Recommended Reading

Historical fiction

The past is fascinating. I like to read about how humanity coped before computers. As a member of the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) the events I like the most are the ones called “Arts & Science”. Basically, people research and try their hands at old techniques of weaving, cooking, woodworking… name it. I learn something new every time. It’s amazing how clever our ancestors were.

History is made of people who, knowingly or not, changed the course of event by their actions. What happened in the past can be interesting. There is so much people that didn’t make it into textbook… What their lives could have been like? That’s where historical fiction comes from.

Yes I did write that much just to get at: here is a list of historical fiction books. I tried to get a lot of different eras and genres here.

If you scroll all the way down, there is two of my favorite Manga series too: A Bride’s story that relates Amir’s life who lives in Turkic Central Asia during the 19th century and Vinland Saga, the story of a Viking named Thorfinn and his efforts to get to Vinland (which is Newfoundland by the way).

 

Leave a comment